June 5, 2013

  • FURIOUS!!!!!

    I don’t know how many of you, who are members at my blog site, have heard news or rumors of Xanga closing down.  

    That’s not what upsets me.  

    Last August (AUGUST!!!!) I was charged $25.00 to renew my YEARLY membership fees.  It took me by surprise, as I had no warning or notice from them.  Fortunately, I had money to cover the charge.

    A year before that, like an idiot, I thought it would be better to have them automatically withdraw the money from my checking account, so I wouldn’t forget to pay and then incur additional charges to be reconnected to Xanga.  So last year’s pymt. was okay with me – I just wished they had notified me, first.  It’s not like they don’t have my email address OR my home address with which to contact me.

    I just logged into my bank account and found Xanga withdrew $25.00 (TODAY) for my YEARLY membership dues.  

    LAST August to THIS August (which hasn’t arrive yet) is a year – NOT August to June; not in my book, anyway.

    What really got me was what they called the charge, “Settlement.”

    I KNEW to watch for the charge at the end of July or beginning of August.  

    GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.  That’s a bunch of bad words I’m keeping subdued but they are words caught in my craw!!!

    I’m VERY unhappy with what they did.  I don’t know how to get my money back; because, last year, they said once the pymt. was made, they issued no refunds.

    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO not pleased, here.

    Has anyone else (who has an automatic withdrawal set up) had this happen?  (an early withdrawal)

    I’m not feeling well and wonder if that’s why this is hitting me in the gut!!!???!!!

     

    Okay – venting helped.

    In Christ ~ Cherylyn

     

    Edit:  I wrote Xanga and told them about what I thought was an early payment.  We’ll see what they say, if anything.  My recollection was once they withdrew a payment, there were no refunds.  I remember them saying (last year, when I looked into this surprise payment the FIRST time) that there were no refunds once the payment was withdrawn.  AND, “NO, they do not send a notification of payment due.”

     

     

Comments (7)

  • You can vent anytime, I know how frustrating that must be.  I still am shocked that they charged your acct, now although they are in a financial bind and once they have your authorization to withdraw from your checking account, they will.  I do not pay to blog here nor would I pay to blog anywhere, but I have had other services misuse the withdrawal privilege. I honestly doubt you will ever see your money again, it is too bad as 9 onths does not equal a yr. even if they do close down 7/15!

  • yikes! That is totally wrong! I don’t understand why they would do that, as they are saying those that pay to continue will not be charged unless they have enough, and it will be more than $25.
    Praying for your health. In His love, Jenny

  • I just went and checked my settings. Whew! thank you for alerting me. I unsubscribed from automatic renewal with 21 days left! I pray to see you blogging somewhere. I pray for you and your family often and like hearing your updates. Have a better day Cherylyn!!

  • that IS annoying! so sorry. i’m with beth – gonna go check my automatic renewal. i hadn’t even thought about it.

    hugs!!!

  • Wow! That seems extreme. I know Xanga is grasping to stay afloat, but they should not be taking advantage of people like that! A friend bought me life time membership, so I don’t get hassled. Kinda funny… if Xanga goes under, is my “Lifetime” done?

    Hope you are feeling better!

  • Not with Xanga, I don’t like to do that, but I understand what you mean when you expect a certain amount or on a certain date and they surprise you and it’s suddenly our fault. CRAZY!!!

  • If you don’t have automatic renewal, won’t they contact you to remind you it’s time?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *