Month: October 2011

  • It's Fall (inside my house)

    It's been another mammoth amount of time since I last posted.

    I've been unusually busy with school (older grades are now requiring more of them AND the teacher!) and keeping up with appointments for me AND each of the children.  The squares in my appointment book/calendar are jammed with something/somewhere to do/go each day.

        

    I missed church Wednesday night.  I had a relaxing and productive day at home and when I went back to bed to put my feet up, before dinner, I fell asleep (HARD) for several hours.  I've been doing that and other (weird) things lately, and the doctor wants me to do a sleep study to see if I am not sleeping soundly during the night.

    So, one more appointment to add to the calendar!

                         

    JanaLyn (first granddaughter) has been spending time here.  Sometimes I get her and keep her until her mom gets off work.  It's been working out great.  I'm usually in the area on the days she needs me to pick her up.  JanaLyn loves animals and has a way with them.  I also found out, she can make a pet out of almost anything.  I've seen her carry a lady bug around with her all day. 

      

    This time, she adopted a butterfly with injured wings.  She named him King Monarch.  She was incredible!  She gave it cotton balls of sugar water (nectar).  She built it a house with a roof she colored, an operable front door (she cut and also colored), and she colored a wood parquet floor!

                   

    It was amazing!  The butterfly seemed to like her and would crawl up on her finger if she offered just the tip of her finger! 

        

    She was here yesterday and we asked about King Monarch and she said he had healed up and flew away!  I would have NEVER thought this butterfly would fly again.  Such a huge chunk was missing from one wing! 

                    ************************************************************

    The girls are gradually getting their teeth taken care of.  Annamarie and Adrienne (Luci)  had a mouthful of cavities this last time.  Their third visit is next week and that should catch them up on all repairs.  They go every year and I don't know how this many cavities formed unless they are "pretend brushing" when reminded to brush.  I think Rissy only had 2 cavities, but the fillings aren't filed correctly and she will probably have to go in to have them buffed down so her bite doesn't bother her.

    Other than a spelling test today, the girls are getting a "fall break" from school.  The weather is beautiful (again) and will be for the next 3 or 4 days.  In the low 80s and no wind.

     

    Inside the house, I've made the transition to fall.   Some days, it is truly fall outside, but pretty much fall has been of my own making inside the house.  I have always loved bringing the outdoors inside, and many times I've had to force the outside by making it winter, spring, or fall inside my house FIRST!

    We haven't seen many outside trees turn colors.  The drought this summer turned everything brown and we've jumped from summer green to dead brown.  That's no fun!  I doubt we will see a colorful palate of fall colors (not unless we look inside my house!).

                                                     

    For the past few years, I've collected pumpkins.  Little ones, big ones, medium sized ones.  This year I bought two that were frosted with a glittery sugar.  I place them here and there around the house on tables.

    Rissy found a black crow this year and I snatched him up and bought some fall colored glass beads on a stick.  Since we have black in the den, I put our little crow-guy on the den's end table with a metal decorative inset under the glass and a black lamp on top.   I WANNA BUY MOOOOORRRRRE!  He's so cute.  This confirms, once more, my love for birds!  

                      

    So far, we have barely given Thanksgiving a thought.  It seems so far away, but it isn't.  We always stay here and invite guests, so I'm assuming that part will remain the same.  Last year, Rissy made the turkey dressing, turkey, two fruit salads with marshmallows, and the pumpkin pies.  Stephanie has already informed Rissy  she does NOT plan to stick her hand inside a turkey - so Rissy or I will be in charge of that.  And I'll make sweet potatoes or yams in some type of dish.

                                                  

    We are down scaling Christmas a WHOLE bunch this year.  So I'm not even thinking about that, yet.  I always plan ahead, but I'm only going as far as November in my head, right now.

    Surprise!  Jesse just walked in from work - EARLY!  It's hard to stay gone (in the lawn care business) when there is nothing growing!   He has no plan for what he will do over the winter months.  There are several options and he is praying for some new options.  We'll see what happens.

    This week we made another thrift store run.  Rissy and Annamarie have very little to wear for winter, especially to church.  To say they've rapidly grown and changed in their appearance (in a big way), is an understatement.  These are young pre-teens - not little children.  It's always interesting (to me) to watch what they choose to wear, without my help.  I see definite and different personalities in them.  They don't always get what they choose, but I try to work with their uniqueness and our desire for them to be modest.  They all got boots this year (Rissy got two pair) and are leaning toward some current fashion trends (big tops with straight skirts).  AND, the skirts are shorter than they've ever been.  We're allowing the shorter skirt length IF THEY WEAR TIGHTS under them.  This was a compromise where we could all agreed.

                          
                          Hummm?  Is it just me, or does it look like someone took a few bites,
                                                   or poked a finger tip 3 times into
                         this pumpkin?  I didn't see the marks until I pasted this picture here!!!

    Rissy is liking the new 60" scarves, boots of all kind, and fashion belts.  Adrienne (Luci) loves hats and she is one person who can wear a hat . . . ANY hat.  They all look good on her.  With Adrienne, if it screams "BLING" she loves it!  I find myself putting MANY of her choices back on the store's shelves!  If I let her, she would wear the biggest and most sparkly fake diamonds she could find and would be dripping in them!  Annamarie continues to be conservative and like darker colors.  Other than navy and black, she picks different shades of gray, eggplant purples, and dark aquas; and, they all look great on her.

                         

    We're trying something new this year.  I'm looking for a pretty basket to put in the foyer and keep all of the children's gloves in it.  There are 4 or 5 pair of plain black, then many, MANY different styles and colors.  I think there is over a dozen different pairs.  I told them first come, first served.  NO arguing over gloves.  They are to be put back when they get home and rotated so each girls gets a turn at the purple one with the crazy red swirls!  We'll see how long they are able to share and be fair!

                                       

    That's seems to be all of the news for the week.  Maybe next time I can take pictures of my girls instead of pictures of 92 million pumpkins!

    Be Blessed  ~ 

  • Soooo Busy!

    This has been an interesting week.

    A new keyboard arrived and I no longer have "r" issues!!!!!

    The cast came off and I was given a prescription for some type of anti inflammatory for bursitis that has settled into the injured areas. 

    I've chiseled away at my closet project and it's near completion.

                       
                                                                       Before

    Thanks to the help of THESE

                                     

    The wasted space above my hangers has now been made more useful.

                                                       
                                                                                      After

    I really like the colors of black, white, and shocking pink together.  Having colors I enjoy, makes  the project of the neat, tidy boxes even more appealing to look at.  

    I have to post the before and after pictures, for the full effect!!!

                                            
                                                         Ugly shelves BEFORE
                                       All of these things are now in boxes or in the trash!

    That stuff is what is in the pretty boxes up high.  I keep a small step stool in my closet.
     

                                                       
                                                                THESE shelves, now look like

                           
                       THESE  Shelves                                                 AFTER  

                      Can you see my hanging bag of shoes to the left of the shelves?

    MY short sleeve and long sleeve t-shirts are in two piles, now, and on two shelves.

                                  
                                                                     Short sleeves T-shirts

                                                                 
                                                                                       Long sleeve t-shirts. 

                        
    Not only does my closet look tidy, but my sweaters aren't cramped on the rod and getting hanger bumps in the shoulders!  They and my t-shirts are neatly folded on the white shelves.

                                                   
                                                   The sweaters are light weight on one shelf
                                                          to heavy weight on the shelf below.

    And, the cardigan sweaters are hung on the rod with heavy, thick hangers that should, hopefully, prevent hanger pokes!

    I need to work on folding the sweaters a little more narrow so there is room for two piles on each shelf.  But, at least they are easy to get to and sorted by weight.

    A couple more projects for the future are:

    *   Clean off the top of the refrigerator
    *  Clean the linen shelf in the indoor pantry.  I'm sure many things can be thrown away!
    *  Clean the hall linen and medicine closet
    *  Clean the formal linen and seasonal crafts closet in Rissy's room
    *  Sort my pictures (already in bags, sorted by the year) & put in photo albums
    *  Take old, old, OLD files from inside desk file drawers and move to outside file cabinets.

    I'm sure many other things will pop up, but that's a good enough list to keep me busy for a while!

    Be Blessed  ~