Month: March 2010

  • Ahhh! Sweet Success!

    Last night, Annamarie's birthday, was absolutely the best! 

    Such a great gathering and such a happy time.

    It makes me unbelievably happy when I create something, or do something, my child loves!  And love it, she did!

         

    She had a delightful time with her dad.  They went to take care of some banking business, first thing.  Then went to lunch at "Incredible Pizza"  which is a pizza/salad/dessert buffet with all kinds of rides and arcade games.  The manager found out it was Annamarie's birthday, and gave her a card with $10.00 on it to be used towards the games.  So nice!

                                  

    From there, they went to the mall.  She loved the "Disney Store" and bought herself, her two sisters, and JanaLyn (their niece, our granddaughter) a stuff animal in a soft basket.  There was a cute Disney character gift sack they placed each gift in and Jesse added some candy at home.  Annamarie added a note to her sisters and JanaLyn, "Thank you for my gift.  Love, Annamarie."  A nice surprise for those who were "giving" gifts!

    Stephanie came early with JanaLyn and we had a bit of time to talk, while JanaLyn played on the trampoline.  Jesse had taken our girls to the park.  JanaLyn hated arriving and the girls being gone, but . . . such is life.

                                 

    While Annamarie was gone, I got things around here ready and she was so pleased when she saw her cake and the brightly colored packages.  To see JanaLyn, on top of all that, was the ice cream on her cake!

    The "party food" was out of this world.  We haven't had these appetizer foods since about 2 Decembers ago!  I did nothing for the last two Super Bowl Sundays in January, and Jesse was thrilled when he tasted it all.  Stephanie was also pleased, because she hasn't had anything like it in a long time.

          

    Stephanie told Annamarie she thought she had made a wonderful choice for her birthday meal and she would have chosen ALL the same things!  Annamarie glowed!  She was so happy that everyone else was happy!  I admit, the food was delicious to my taste buds, too!!!

         

    We prayed before the meal and I did something rather unorthodox - I took pictures of the children praying.  It was just so cute, I couldn't help myself!!!  Darling little people with eyes tightly closed!

     

    Then they ate and with great gusto!  

                                          

    Annamarie received a poster of kittens that will go over her bed in her newly painted room.  She loved it!  And our real cat loved being in the middle of things, again!

                                          

       

    Her dad had found a video that had been recently released and she screamed when she saw it!    Everyone had to laugh at her completely shocked reaction!  She *was* excited!

         

    We gave her quite a few church (spring/summer) dresses and added a doll, and some doll clothes, to her collection.   

                             

    Always an aftermath!

           

           

    After opening gifts, we cut into the cake.  When I showed pictures of it yesterday, I realized it had no candles.  When I went to place ten yellow candles with one more red candle "to grow on," I realized I was creating a fire hazard.  When lit, the candles were dangerously close to the roses!

       

    We lit the cake, sang, and told her to quickly to blow out the candles!  She gently blew them out with a couple puffs!

                                

    The red inside of the cake looked great with the red roses on top, and it tasted good, too.  JanaLyn kept asking, "What's a *red velvet* cake, anyhow?!?

                                   

    There is enough food leftover for us to have leftovers for today's lunch AND dinner today.  We'll spend tonight and tomorrow night clearing out the refrigerator foods.

    I have to go to the hospital in the morning to drink some barium.  They want to "watch me swallow" with a camera and I don't expect it to take long.  I'll have to fast after midnight tonight, which is no problem.  I'm not a huge breakfast eater.

           
                    My granddaughter JanaLyn with my daughters Rissy and Stephanie (JanaLyn's mother).

    I may not be back until later in the week. 

    The painter continues to make great progress in our front room, but I bet he'll need to work on  this computer wall in the next day, or so, and I will be disconnected from the computer.  I'll be back when I am able!

          
                            Look at that cream cheese frosting just dripping down the cake.  Oh yum!

    Be Blessed  ~

  • Happy Birthday, Annamarie

    Today, Annamarie turns ten years old!


                                

    Whoa!   We're into the double digits with the little ones!  Time sure flies!

            

    She is the child with a consistently easygoing and happy disposition.

    She is the one who has a healing touch.  You know?  The kind of person who can lay a hand on your forehead and you feel immediate comfort, and not quite so icky!

                

    She's the quiet one.  The one that scares the thunder out of me when she comes up behind me in the kitchen and speaks!  I scream - she giggles.  Oh heart, be still!!!

    She's the conservative one.  The one who prefers a basic black skirt and white blouse.

            

    Also, she has always liked purple.

            

    She likes red roses.

    She likes playing in the snow.
     
      

    She likes her sisters and playing with them. 

       

    She likes JanaLyn, technically her niece, but only 4 years younger than her!

        

    She's the one who learned to sit quietly, before any of the other girls.

          

    Annamarie is currently out on a lunch date with her dad.

    Jesse's new way of doing something special for the girls.  A time with only them as center of attention.

    I'm home putting out the gifts.

         

    Frosting her cake and decorating it.

         

    AND, preparing for her birthday dinner later tonight.

    She has requested "Party Food" which means the things I used to fix for Super Bowl Sunday.  Translated, that would be finger foods or appetizers.

    *  Fried chicken strips
    *  Carrot and celery sticks
    *  Ranch dip for both of the above
    *  Lil' Smokies with barbecue sauce
    *  Mini quiches
    *  Tortilla pinrolls with a variety of stuffings
    *  Sweet mini gherkin pickles and black olives
    *  Hot spinach and artichoke dip.
    * And . . . (drum roll please!)  RED VELVET birthday cake with CREAM CHEESE FROSTING!

                                     

    She's a sweet girl and I'll be sure to take lots of pictures tonight and share the birthday girl's party with my Xanga friends soon!

    Happy Birthday, Annamarie.

    Dad, your sisters, and I love you!!! 

    Be Blessed  ~

  • Doctors and My Biblical Cult

    For someone who had not much to say last time, I'm filled with subject matter today!  LOL!!!!

    I baked some cookies yesterday.  Buttermilk cookies shaped like chicks with cream cheese frosting for feathers.  They weren't very good.  They tasted like a buttermilk biscuit more than a cookie. 

    Then I made some almond flavored dough and, instead of pressing a chocolate kiss in the center, I dropped a spoonful of seedless, raspberry jam in the depressed center.  They were very good.

          

    We made a decision on the taupe paint colors for the formal rooms and foyer.  And, I made a decision on the green for our bedroom.  I had several paint samples up all day in our room, and looked at the colors in all different shades of lamp light and sunlight.  When the sun shined through the window at 4:00pm, I clearly saw the best choice for our room.

    Annamarie's room's light pink turned out more white than pink.  We still have to move her furniture back in place.  She's been sleeping in an extra bed in Rissy's room.  You can only tell there is a blush of pink when you compare it to the ceiling's white paint color.  The painter also touched up her baseboards with a bright white.

                

    Let's see . . .

    On Wednesday, I went to the GI doctor and he said he was going to have me set an appointment at the hospital to drink some barium and concentrate on viewing my esophagus - from the point where I swallow to where the liquid enters my stomach.  We already know I don't have anything wrong past that point.  Earlier this month, biopsies of some raw areas and a scope showed everything fine, except a narrowing of my esophagus.  He admitted that he may only be able to treat the symptoms and not cure them.

    I had the opportunity to apologize for my rantings after surgery about the he (G.I. doctor) and anesthesiologist being "so young."  I explained it had nothing to do with me feeling they were inexperienced, but more to do with the fact I'm having a "getting old" crisis of my own.  I told him it was a rude awakening when you realize you are old enough to be your surgeon's mother!  I asked him to apologize to the anesthesiologist and he said, "He was a kinda Doogie Hauser (sp?) looking kind of guy, wasn't he?"  We laughed!

                               

    I've started having problems again eating and feeling like a rock is lodged in my chest.  I've sipped small bits of water to moisten what sticks on the way down, but it does no good.  Yesterday, at lunch,  I had a SEVERE episode of chest pain, after swallowing some sauce on pasta.  I've had to start using the "GI Cocktail" I was sent home with, after being discharged from the hospital last September.  He said that was the right thing to use, for now, and gave me a new, slightly different, prescription.- another "G.I. Cocktail" of sorts.

    Several nights I've awaken with spasms that sound somewhere in between a burp and a hiccup.  The spasms repeat themselves over, and over, and over, and over until I can barely catch my breath.  Jesse said one time, I didn't even wake up when the spasms occurred.  At least we know I'm sleeping well!!!!


    ***********************************************************
    ANNOUNCEMENT:

    From this point forward, my post will be (quite possibly) a very controversial post.  These are my *opinions* and I am not wanting a heated discussion started because of my *opinions,* please!

    ****************************************************************

    On Thursday, I went to my general physician for a follow up visit.  While there, he insisted I do some arm lifts (exercises) and bend over reaching my arms far from my body.  It caused me to have two spasms in my ribs.  The second one was caused because he had me on my back and told me to reach my arms back, over my head.  I told him I couldn't reach like that without pulling a rib or having a back spasm. 

    He believed I "could" do it and insisted I try.  I had such a horrible spasm the second time in my upper right shoulder blade, it brought tears to my eyes.  These rib spasms feel like a Charlie Horse in your calf, and the area feels very bruised afterward, just like a Charlie Horse.  He apologized profusely.

         

    We had not started the exam out on a great note, him reprimanding me because I was late for the 1:15pm  appointment.  I told him I signed in at 1pm and he could check at the reception desk.  I really thought he was kidding.  But, he shook his finger at me and said, "It's people like you that make me late all afternoon long, because you didn't fill out your paperwork by 1:15pm.  Either get here earlier or download the paperwork at home and complete it before coming to my office!"

            

    I couldn't argue.  I was interrupted quite a few times while filling out paperwork for all of my children for their therapy appointments,  plus extra forms for Rissy and me, who had medical appointments.  The girls' therapist came out and talked to me for about 5 or 10 minutes about the girls.  Then, Jesse (who was with Rissy, seeing another doctor) texted me silly questions.  THEN, the receptionist gave me one more questionnaire she had forgotten to give me at first. 

    I apologized to the doctor and said it would never happen again.

    ************************************************************************

    You'd think that would have been enough, but THEN he attacked me and our religion! 

    No kidding! 

    He wondered how long  "my people"  had been around and what my cult or religious clan mandated as far as hair and dressing.  He let me know he "hated religion" (and I'm sure he does, as his face was beet red while he told me his opinions) and said he was a Presbyterian and didn't believe in all of their rules.  He didn't know what "my people" had for rules, but he didn't believe in those, either!  It was all a bunch of "religion!"  He looked me square in the eyes with his red face, twisted with anger, and said, "You know that we can do whatever we want?  Jesus did away with all the laws!"

    I told him, "Actually, Jesus said, I have *NOT* come to destroy the law, but to fulfill it."

       

    Then he said, "We don't have to follow the 10 commandments, either.  Jesus gave us two new commandments and those are the only ones "these days" that we needed to follow.  Did you know that?!"  He look very triumphantly at me, like he had a trump card in our argument/conversation.

    I told him, "But, if you do unto your neighbor as you would do unto yourself, and if you love your neighbor as you do yourself, you won't commit murder, stealing, or adultery, which are what some of the Ten Commandments ask us to not do.  Those issues in the Ten Commandments are still wrong"

                

    The doctor, not to be stopped (I really don't even know how this discussion got started!!!!), asked me again about my "dress code."  What was the deal about me wearing dresses all the time, since there was no place in the Bible that talked about dresses.  I told him, "In  the Old Testament in Deuteronomy (in one of the first chapters) it says women were not to wear anything pertaining to a man, nor was a man to wear anything pertaining to a woman." 

    He challenged me, "But they *all* wore robes in those day.  They **ALL** wore dresses!"  He look very pleased with himself, this time. 

    I said, "I'm sure there was a distinction between girl robes and boy robes, even back them.  I'm not a historian of ancient history and attire, but I *DO* believe it wouldn't have been placed in the Bible if God thought it wasn't worth mentioning.  I told him there was no church mandate that told me what color or length of a dress to wear.  In fact, there was no church rule about wearing dresses, or anything else.  But, in Timothy and in Peter, part of the *New Testament,* the Bible (IN THE *NEW* TESTAMENT) tells a woman to be meek and modest and to not decorate herself with expensive clothing, fancy hair styles or lots of jewelry in order to draw attention to herself.  She is to be feminine.  Dresses are the one thing a girl can wear that a man DOESN'T *EVER* wear, thereby making it strictly feminine attire." 

                
                                             (The print of our current bedding and window treatments.)

    He said, "How long has this dress business with women been around?"  I told him women had ALWAYS worn dresses up until the 1920s. and many of them had worn a covering on their heads.  And, women were more feminine and encouraged to be homemakers until the 1960s, when women screamed for equal rights.  After that, many things in the American culture changed, and not all was, necessarily, for the better."  He admitted that the 1960s was a significant period in the history of women.

    Considering he was running so late because of *me*, I figured we were done . . .

    But no . . .

    . . . only wishful thinking, on my part.

    He pressed on and asked again, "So, how long has this group of 'your people' been around?  I mean when did they get started?  This cult you follow."  I told him,  "Technically" plain attire and many beliefs we adhere to today (like water baptism after an age of accountability, as opposed to baby baptism)  come from the Anabaptists.  I believe they formed in 1587.  I may be wrong, but I'm pretty sure it's 1587.  (I don't think he expected an exact year as an answer.)

    "And, although you and I have, obviously, different beliefs, I don't believe wearing pants or not wearing a head covering will send me to hell."

    I also said, "This isn't a salvation issue.  Many church doctrines differ in these areas, but none of these issues are relevant to salvation or the saving of one's soul.  All who accept Jesus, and what He did on the cross  (which was a gift), and all who realize there is no work we ourselves can do to guaranty we will go to heaven - only by our belief in the gift of salvation from Jesus - and ONLY by that *ONE* acceptance, can we enter heaven . . .  through Jesus. 

           

    "So, my husband and I pray about all other "issues.  We pray, wait, hear from God, and are convicted to do what we do.  The Bible says If God reveals something to you and you don't obey, it is counted as sin." (James 4:17)

             
                                               (Purring, smiling, and rolling around like a slug!)

    He turned away to look at my chart and mumbled, "Well, that's true." 

    Then he began to let up on his tirade of questions by sarcastically asking me, an inch from my face, "Well, are you allowed to take a bath?" 

    I quickly answered with a voice in shock, "Noooo!  Never!" 

    He had started to walk away from me, but whipped around and frowned at me.  I continued, "I can't quote this passage like I did the others, but I believe, somewhere in the New Testament, it says, we are to only take a shower on a day of the week that begins with the letter "T" and we are to face south when so doing.  But, NEVER a bath!"

    He shut up.

    Thank you Jesus!

    The Bible is quite serious when we read, " . . . be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear."

    I hope I didn't come across overbearing.  He was definitely trying to push my buttons.

          

    So there you have my week, my medical news, and some of my theological beliefs!  Please don't throw stones - it's been a long week!

                                                   (Cleaning his ear and being silly!)

    I need to finish this up.  I've been writing off and on for hours, and I need to lie on the heating pad.  The painter didn't show up today.  Oh, well . . . .

    Two new recipes coming up tonight and tomorrow after church.  Pork tonight, Crock Pot chicken tomorrow.  I'll let you know if they are worth keeping!  I made meatballs with homemade barbecue sauce in the oven last night.  VERY good!

    Be Blessed  ~

  • Answers

    I don't really have much to write that is new.

    I still have a mess on the dining room table. 

    I've started a new book that is hard to read.  "Sabina."  The language is uneducated English and I feel I'm deciphering a code as I read!  But, it's a book I've own for 2 or 3 years and have never read.  I feel obligated to read the books I've hung onto for so long!    One of my changes I've recently made in my life.  Read more, and keep a log with comments.

    So, without pictures and anything new to write, I've decided to answer, or address, the comments on my last post, or comments y'all have left me regarding my comments on your site.

    *************************************************

    Tina, I have moved many, many times and it is NOT an easy job to wrap everything carefully each time.  I won't kid you, it's a huge hassle to move with china.  The last 2 moves, when we were making a trip to the new place, I rode with the china on my lap to avoid having to wrap each piece.  Each trip to the new house would find me holding plates, or saucers, or two sleeves of cups carefully on my lap! 

    I also own some small cereal bowls by Corelle - a plain white with a stripe of black or a stripe of red.  I like the thin feel of it and I've heard it's very hard to break.

    ******************************************************

    Mae, on my 50th birthday some (ahem! 7) years ago, I wanted to make my china service (for 8) large enough serve 12.  I found it was too costly to order that Noritake, white china with the daisy border, BUT, I found a Noritake, white plate with silver edge (just a scalloped china design, making it a *little* different) that was a close match.  I purchased those four place settings for a fraction of what my own pattern would have cost, and I have set a table for more than 8 many times without anyone noticing the china doesn't match.  White with a silver edge - basic and easy to disguise when the food is on the plate!!!! 

    ******************************************************

    Shanda, my mother's rose china pattern can be found at this link.  The crystal pattern (iced tea, low sherbet, & juice glasses) my mom chose is one I can't find.  It's looks like this one, but without the etching of a flower.  Just plain crystal with a simple carved stem.  Some of the water goblets have nicks at the top, but I've heard the nicks can be ground down by a crystal repair place.  The glasses are quite expensive, but restoring them (erasing the nicks) would be quite a bit less than buying the glass new - which I can't even find (not without the flower etched in it).

    The truth is, Shanda, you have inspired me by your little china plates you pack for picnics.  I told Jesse, for my birthday this year, I'd like to shop thrift stores and find mismatched 6.5" - 7" plates to use as luncheon plates.  If they are cheap, I won't feel horrible if the girls break one.  And, since they are mismatched to begin with . . .

    ********************************************************

    Lori W. - my everyday dishes are some I bought for a dollar a piece at a warehouse.  They are a clear *larger than usual size* glass, but have a pattern etched in them.  Some are poinsettias and some are calla lilies.  No one has ever noticed that, like my white china dinnerware, they don't match!  I have the cabbage rose etched luncheon plates and no one has noticed those don't match the two patterns of dinner plates!  LOL      I had to buy clear soup bowls at Wal-Mart, because the etched floral pattern was discontinued everywhere.  Each one of my everyday clear dishes, was a $1 a piece.  So far, we've not broken one dish.  They are VERY durable!  I fist bought them because we hosted church meetings (25 people) at our house each Sunday night.  These were better than flimsy paper plates on laps.  When I wanted to replace my everyday dishes (blue trim with geese from the late 80's), I could find nothing I liked and decided to pull out the glass church dishes - NEVER expecting them to last for the past seven years!  What a surprise!

    To answer your question:  Lo and behold, the painter called today and needed to work.  We started him on Annamarie's room.  That's the room I painted 2 years ago, but it turned out a mint green color that Jesse and I were unhappy with.  This time we've chosen an almost white, pale, pale pink.  He's doing that now AND has primed over the floral wallpaper border.  We will accent her light pink walls with the cranberry red carpet and pillows, which we have already purchased for there.

    We've only purchased sample cans of paint for the front rooms and our bedroom.  I can tell already, the greens we selected for our bedroom won't be dark enough.  The darker moss green I bought for accent walls will work on the "lighter colored walls,"  but we will have to choose a darker mossy green for the dark bedroom accent walls.

    *****************************************

    Yes, Julia, it sure is easier to have someone else do your painting.  Up until 2 years ago, I have always done my own prep work and painting.  I'm one of those odd people blessed with being ambidextrous and having an incredibly steady hand.  I can easily paint around intricate woodwork trim, or white ceiling and colored wall, with either my left or right hand.  But, I relinquished painting (no reaching with my back issues, right now) to someone who won't suffer physically afterward.  Our painter is quick and charges a reasonable rate.  

    Julia, thank you for the compliment about my cooking abilities.  I enjoy eating, therefore . . . (LOL!!!!) 

    ***********************************************
     
    Tomorrow the girls are going back to the dentist.  Luci & Rissy need two fillings, each.  And, Annamarie needs a painful tooth looked at.  She forgot to tell the dentist, last week - the whole reason we booked the dental appointment with the new dentist! 

    ***********************************************

    Tomorrow afternoon, I'm meeting with the G.I. doctor that did my surgery 2 months ago.  I'm not getting much relief from the tightening in my esophagus or the spasms.  So, we'll see if he has anything to offer.  I may have to live with these side effects from my radiation treatments for the rest of my life.  But, it sure beats cancer . . . .

    *********************************************

    The girls are taking a break in the backyard from school.  It's been a rough couple of days this week.  Yesterday was so hard, I had an enormous headache afterward.  Jesse had listened to the teaching all morning (and the early part of the afternoon) and when dinner time rolled around, he told me to stay in bed on the heating pad and he'd get pizzas.  It must have really been worse than I realized for him to turn down a home cooked meal and order cheap pizzas!!!

    I'm making another new recipe tonight.  Baked Ziti  It's made with turkey Italian sausage to make it less fattening.  I don't know, though, with ricotta, mozzarella, and Parmesan cheese, there may be no saving on calories!

    *********************************************

    I had wanted to make some cookies this afternoon, but school is taking a VERY long time, again.  Education is more important than cookies for dessert, so the baking may not happen!

    *******************************************

    Be Blessed  ~

  • A Late Post

    It feels much later than it is, but still, me writing at 9:00pm is unusually late for me!

    We had an active and productive weekend.  The great snow was just that - great!  We measured some places right outside our back door that drifted into 10" high mountains!  I'd say we got about 5-6 inches here and larger drifts, of course, around the sides of the house and the porch. 

    Most of the snow ended by late Sunday morning.  Many churches were closed.  We didn't even attempt to get out to go anywhere.  It was beautiful to watch and I spend much time on my heating pad, reading a book.

                  

    I tackled the dining room's china cabinet.  It was emptied out for several reasons.

    1.  It will need to be moved when our friend is ready to paint and he doesn't always give us much notice as to when he will be coming.  We still have to buy the paint we want - the 2 shades of taupe.

    2.  It hasn't been cleaned in years and the dust sneaked through cracks in the door fittings, making everything dirty and the shelves HORRIBLY dusty!  That was magnified when I removed the china that had been occupying spots on the shelves.  A clean round dish space, a clean place where the bottom of a glass had rested . . .

    3.  Since I needed to move the china dishes up from under the low cabinet storage so I could start using them, I needed to rearrange everything on the shelves, anyway, to make room for the china.

           

    I have my work cut out for me!

    My dining room table looks like a junk store, flea market table, or a garage sale table full of garbage!!!  The silver is tarnished to a nice brown/black color!  The crystal is dusty and the glass bowls are clouded with . . . well, I don't know what, but they aren't shimmering light prisms through them, right now!

           

    I took the most expensive crystal glasses (from my Mom & Dad's wedding) and made a barricade around them of heavier dishes, just in case Chirper decides to snoop on the table in the middle of the night.  I don't want any surprise sounds of crashing or breaking glass waking me up!

    The "crystal" glasses in the lower right corner of the picture above are actually glasses you buy from Arby's at Christmas.  Buy a roast beef sandwich and for one dollar you can buy a water goblet with a winter snow scene etched on them !  Ha!  That's the contribution *I* have made to the crystal glass collection!  My parent's crystal is quite a bit more than a dollar per glass!

           

    I found some pieces I really like and I enjoyed handling them just as much!  Lots of memories.

    This is a piece of my parent's china from their wedding gifts.


    One of the teacup sets I recently ordered is similar to this pattern (one of the reason's I liked it).  Long story short, someone was given my mom's china to sell on a commission and the entire (extensive) collection was lost because that "person" failed to follow up on it.  It was in California and I lived in Oklahoma, so there wasn't much I could do.  When my grandmother died (my mother's mother) my Aunt Doris (my mom's sister) found this dish and sent it to me.  It meant a lot to me because THESE are the dishes we ate our formal meals on at the dining room table.  I grew up with this pattern and many memories are attached.

    My mom tried her hand at ceramic classes, while I was VERY young, and she made some pieces I have been able to preserve over the years. 

    This is a candy dish.

           
    It's kind of a crackled gold leaf.  It has her initials carved into the bottom.

    Another thing my Aunt Doris sent me after Grandma died, was a set of pheasants my mother had made about the same time and given to her mother as a gift.  I LOVED receiving these from my grandmother's house.

              
    The pair normally sits on the top shelf of the china cabinet, out of the reach of animals and small children's hands!  

    Someone asked if I had moved the china dishes up where I can reach them, and the answer is yes and no.  The whole set needs to be washed before we consider using any of it.  But, it IS all on top of the dining room table.  The whole set is there, right down to the sugar bowl and creamer!

        

    I chose a moderately priced china by Noritake.  The flower popular in 1972 was daisies, so those are the pattern on the edges of the plates.  They have a platinum edge, a simple white flower on a less white plate background.  Very simple and a pattern I still love.  I bought an ornate silver pattern to go with the simplistic plates.  But, I didn't even buy silver-plated utensils.  Just stainless steel that is made to look fancy.  Lots of curls and ornate carving on the handles.

             

    The plate photographed like the silver is rubbing off, but it's not.  They are as perfect as the day I received them!

    So, now we have to wait for that one wall to be painted before the china cabinet is moved back in place.  Meanwhile, I have all of this "stuff" on my table.  No sense trying to clean it, not if it has to be left out.  I'll polish the silver and wash off the china and crystal right before I put it all back in the china cabinet.

    So, no fancy meals here.  Not yet!

    I'm still searching for recipes and liking a large percent of what I've tried.

    I wrote three letters (pen and stationery) this weekend.  I intend to make that a weekly habit - that's a good excuse to get to buy more nice stationery!!!

    I finished my last book and have started on a new one today.  I continue to log the books as I finish reading them with the date, a 1-5 star rating, and a comment. 

    I continue to write in my journal. 

    Making a point to set time aside in my crazy life to do these few things isn't hard, because I enjoy the things I'm making myself do!  What's not to like about a good book, pretty china, good food, rich stationery and warm thoughts of a friend or relative?  Suffer, I must!!! LOL

     

    I should go - I need to send some money to a friend.  She just did a bunch of sewing for me!   My clothes are about ready to come out of the dryer.  Dresses!  I HAVE to hang them up immediately when the dryer stops.  AND, it's about time to crawl into bed!

    Be Blessed ~

  • Glorious Spring!

    It was 73° yesterday afternoon.  My children played outside, but quickly came inside and told me it was too hot to play in the backyard!

    Today is the first day of spring!!!

    Can you believe this???!!!  LOL!!!


    Spring is here
    Spring has sprung
    The bird is on the wing.

    My, my, how absurd
    I thought the wing
    Was on the bird!

               

    Be Blessed  ~

  • Changes

    The paint in the den turned out great.  There is still a mess needing to be put back - books on the fireplace and collectibles on the dining room table.  They are predicting a record snowfall on Saturday, even blizzard conditions, and we need to be able to use the fireplace.  Books and fire don't mix!  It's supposed to be near 70 degrees today.  Can you say, "Oklahoma?"

                                   

    There are birthday presents hidden in my closet that need to be wrapped.  It takes me several sessions to box, wrap, and place ribbon on my children's birthday presents.  I simply can't stand bent over a bed that long, and that's where I do my wrapping, to hide things from my children!

                     

                       ************************************************************************

    This is a time in my life that is entertaining a lot of different changes.

    I'm mainly the one in control over those changes.  In fact, many of the changes are absolutely my own doing, my own choice.

    I've contemplated many things over these past twelve months.  It was almost exactly 12 months ago when I was diagnosed with breast cancer.  Several weeks later, we also heard the news of how that breast cancer had metastasized into my blood and had grown tumors in my vertebra.

                     

    Here I am today, healed of breast cancer (totally) and without having had the slightest cut on my breast or chest wall  to removed the cancer.  Healed, by the power of God!  Not because *I* did something right, unless you call relying on God as "something right," but I'm healed because of a loving, heavenly Father.

    Then the bone cancer report last December: bone tumors miraculously shrunk away.  The radiology doctor I saw yesterday also commented on the unusual report from my December PET scan.  "Unbelievable healing" in my back.

                    

    The past 12 months haven't left me untouched emotionally.  Obviously, my strength and faith, regarding my relationship with God, have increased and I'm immeasurably grateful for what He has done; but, I have also changed my perception of how I treat myself.

    I've always loved pretty things.  I've collected my ancestor's china, etc. as they died off, one by one.  I've kept those items enshrouded behind the glass of china cabinets, or (when I had no china cabinet) reverently wrapped and packed in boxes to protect them.

                    

    I recently decided to USE the pretty things.  I've decided to surround myself and USE the things I think are pretty - the things I had once only looked at, daring not to touch or use. 

    I bought several tea cups and saucers from eBay over the past week.  One note arrived with a cup and saucer, "I lost my job 18 months ago and now am faced with selling my precious collections to make the mortgage payment.  I never used this cup and saucer.  I saved it for a special time.  I hope you find a "special time" NOW and use this cup before that "special time" is lost and it's too late."

                 

    Wow!

    Doesn't that speak volumes of what so many of us are guilty of doing?  Waiting for a special time?  Waiting to use the "good dishes" and only using them twice a year - if that.  Why?  Why isn't NOW a special time?

    I've also ordered some lovely (to me, anyway) note paper and pads and it arrived this week.  I look at these things and tell myself it's not necessary to "save" everything.  There is no excuse in the world for NOT using these things that bring me great pleasure.

              

    Why make do with paper torn from a spiral notebook, when there is lovely stationery in a box in the desk drawer?  For that matter, I enjoy writing letters.  Why don't I write more?

    Why drink out of the sturdy and sensible mugs when you have an abundance of beautiful cups and saucers staring at you, each time you walk by the china cabinet?

    Why is my china packed away in the bottom of the china cabinet, so hard to get to that, it's not worth the time it takes to haul it out and use it?  Why am I not using this stuff?  I received the china in 1972.  It's pristine condition should be enjoyed - not saved for the future!  It's highly unlikely that it can be passed down to a daughter who will love it as much I love the pattern!  *I* picked it out - I picked it for "me".  *I* should use it.  I've decided we're going to start having Sunday dinners in the formal dining room, using formal dishes and our formal furniture.  I want to create a beautiful tradition my girls will remember about their childhood when they look back, memories after I'm long dead and gone.  (Yes, Margaret, a bit of Sarah Breathnach has rubbed off!)

             

    I'm making many changes willingly, and I'm finding that I (a person who usually resists changes) am enjoying every hour of my days.

    I've found some sites online and copied new recipes that are totally different from my normal cooking routine.  We've found two recipes that were delicious.  So delicious, in fact, that when I went to bed the night after cooking a couple of them, I realized the reason the house smelled like a restaurant was because I made different recipes for dinner that were off the beaten track of my normal same ol' same ol' menus.  Different spices, etc.

    Paprika Chicken with Sour Cream Sauce

    1/2 C flour
    2 tsp paprika
    1 tsp garlic powder
    1 tsp black pepper
    1 tsp ground red pepper

    4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I cut mine in 3"x3" pieces)
    1/4 C butter

    1 can cream of chicken soup
    2 green onions (I used onion powder and 2 T chives since we have people who hate onions!)
    8oz container of sour cream

    Stir the first 5 ingredients together in a shallow pan (I used a pie plate)
    Blot meat dry and coat with flour mixture. 
    Heat butter in skillet and cook chicken for 10 minutes, or until it's well browned.
    Removed Chicken.  Stir in soup and onions, heat on low.
    Return chicken to pan and cover.  Cook 5 more minutes or until chicken is cooked through.
    Stir in sour cream and allow it to blend well.

    I served this with roasted potato wedges, but there was enough sauce to serve it over rice or noodles.

     
                       ******************************************************************************

    I'm finally using all of those candles I have saved "for special."  Today I'm burning "Pumpkin Spice" in the kitchen and "Mulled Cider" in the foyer.  Why not?  Why not use what brings us pleasure instead of waiting?

    I'm determined to use up the grocery store lotions and begin to use the beautifully scented Victoria's Secret and Bath & Body Works lotions I've received as gifts, or have bought for myself.  Why smell good only on "special days"????  That ludicrous!  

    No more saving things for a special occasion.  God has given me an extension of my years here on earth and I intend to live, love, and be happy with life.  I know sad times and woes will cross each of our paths, and I know some things are not within our family's financial reach, but there is no need to linger on sad times or pity ourselves over our income bracket.  No sense in making sad times last any longer than necessary.

      

    I bought mini-cinnamon rolls at Sam's yesterday - just because they looked good.  No special occasion!

    Be Blessed (and use your nice stuff!)  ~

  • Some Things to Brighten My Days

    Chirping right along (no pun intended about our *cat* "Chirper"!!!), 

    today, I'm focusing on happier subjects and things that bring a smile to my face.

    Rissy's American Doll (Samantha) returned from the doll hospital and I gave her the box yesterday afternoon.  She was so pleased.  The doll came back in a hospital gown wearing a hospital wrist band with her name!  Very cute AND we now have an extra doll box in which to store her.

       

          Samantha is on the far right.                                            This is her certificate from the hospital.

    The other day we went to Wal-Mart looking for some inexpensive fabric.  I found several bolts I liked and they were around $1.50 to $2.00 a yard.  I had bought some boys t-shirts at Wal-Mart in white, yellow, and turquoise blue and I'm going to have a friend sew the fabric on the bottom of the shirts to make a dress.  A t-shirt with a skirt.  Just something they can play in when the weather is warmer.  Yesterday, I washed the shirts and the fabric.

     

    We woke up this morning to chaos in the den.

              

    At first Tango was talking to us from under the blanket that covers her cage. Usually, when you cover a bird, they don't talk.  But, she was unusual and chirped at us, calling us to uncover her.

      

    Little Chirper was waiting to visit Tango.  He was so anxious and VERY glad when Rissy uncovered the cage!

            
      

    Tango IMMEDIATELY began to whistle the theme from the Andy Griffith Show!  Over, and over, and over, and over . . . until I *had* to take a picture of her with her mouth open and just whistling away!! 

      

    Last night, I made poor Jesse go back to Home Depot and darken up the lighter color we had chosen for the den walls.  The light color against the deeper gold looked too yellow and it needy more of a creamy under tone.  I know he wasn't happy, but he did it anyway.  Thanks, babe!

    When he got home I had a pork chop dinner waiting for him.  I made mashed potatoes with grated cheese (and the skin left on the potato), sweet & sour purple cabbage, gravy, and served cold applesauce at the table. 

    I also found out, Rissy doesn't like fried pork chops!  I usually fry them and then stick them on a broiling pan to bake in the oven, to avoid eating so much grease.  Rissy asked me to not flour and fry hers, so she had a baked pork chop and was happy.  I'm always learning things about my family!

    The dark gold color, in the den, dried to a beautiful warm color by this morning.
          
    I think we will really be happy with this.  And, the valances we used to have in the den will be moved to the formal living room, so we won't be wasting those.  The new taupe color in the living room will look great with the den's window treatments.  Yay!!!!

        

    I think I'll really like the black iron curtain rods and black iron lamp bases against the gold walls.  It's dramatic without being over the top!

         

    Our painter took a lunch break and the girls and I are taking a break from school.  Beanie Weanie is the lunch menu and it's time to go eat.

         
     
    Not only is my den a sunny yellow gold, but the REAL sun is shining outside today!  It's only 46° but clear, sunny skies reflect off of the new wall color, and I'm loving it!

    Be Blessed   ~

  • Chaos (a "good" thing)

    Sometimes, if you spin in circles fast enough . . .

    you can't see anything at all.

    After the recent melodrama in our lives . . .  after the emotional roller coaster we've ridden for the past week . . . and, since we didn't have anything better to do . . .

    We decided to stir up our lives and create MORE chaos!

               

    We went to Home Depot, yesterday and bought paint. 

    I mean, why have a calm, under control household, when you could have this?

     

    "Surely not?" you say.

    "Surely they wouldn't CHOOSE to tear up their home while, at the same time, dealing with so many tender emotional issues???"

    "Cherylyn's smarter than that!"

         

    No she's not.

    And, yes, we chose to do it!

    And then, the darker gold paint we chose for the accent walls, in the den, wasn't dark enough (more like a pale yellow). 

    Of course it wasn't. 

    That would have been something going just as planned!!!!

    That would have been without incident.  Without turmoil.  Without chaos!!!!!

    Jesse had to go back this morning and ask them to mix colors into the light "yellow" paint to make it more of a darker, or deeper, gold.  (As I'm typing, the newer, darker gold is going on and I love it!  Pictures tomorrow!)

    Meanwhile, we found out primer (we already owned) was a more cost efficient way of covering the old chili pepper red walls in the den.  We had thought the thick, Behr brand paint would do the job in two coats, but we were wrong.

       

    Bye-bye red paint on the walls.

    Bye-bye serene and comfortable den.

    Hello paint on the floor that raises the curiosity of two dogs and one cat, who are now locked behind bedroom doors!

             
     

    No blinds and no curtain on the back door.

    Hello no privacy!

          

    Our painter friend called Sunday night and needed to pick up a couple of extra days of work.  He knew we had some projects we were wanting done.  So, we chose to work on the den first,

    then our bedroom (two shades of mossy green),

    Annamarie's room (I have never been pleased with the light shade of green I chose for her room) which will be a very soft pastel shade of pink,

    and, last of all, we will tackle the formal dining room, formal living room, and foyer.  Those rooms are a light peach with dark eggplant purple on accent walls.  We've chosen a light taupe and a darker taupe for the accent walls.  That job will require emptying the china cabinet and finding a safe place for my breakables; and, it will take the longest amount of time.  The walls are high and there are a lot of them.

    For now, my fireplace is the new library for the children's books.

         

    And our bird has taken center stage and is loving her new spot!  So does Chirper.  He can easily climb on the table to talk with Tango!

     
    Ask not why we do the things we do (???!!!!). 

    Only know, that we had a choice, and our choice was to set ourselves into spinning circles,

    which may not be a completely bad thing, if it blurs the REALLY bad things that have happened around here!

    *************************************************

    We reported our thief to the agency, and they said they HAD to report it (by law) to APS (Adult Protection Services), and we don't know what will happen next.  They were so apologetic and as stunned, as we were, that this had happened.

    I still have that same headache and daresay it is most definitely hanging around due to stress.

    Thank you to EVERYONE who left a comment about handling the maid issue.  Jesse agreed that he didn't want to be the object of a lawsuit of false accusation, but he didn't want to help the girl, either.  She was an EMPLOYEE, and NOT a friend of ours.

    I let my husband handle things and let him have the final say. 

    Please continue to pray that these conflicts are resolved peaceably.  I'm so glad Jesse is here to protect me from any more drama.  We truly ARE ready for some cheerfulness!

    Be Blessed  ~

  • A Lighter Subject

    After all the gloomy and "downer" posts, I figured it was time to lighten things up. 

    Despite the issues we are dealing with and the stomach upsets around our house, there ARE things that are enjoyable; and, I think it's time to focus on a lighter subject matter!

    The other issues will resolve themselves, in one way or another.

             

    Jesse has taken the girls to a dental appointment and left me to get dressed and address some "I'm ready to mow, again," postcards for him.  I've finished his cards and I'm amazed at how my hands have recovered from the chemo therapy. 

    The chemo left me with severe spasms in my hands.  If I exerted my finger muscles, in the smallest of ways, my fingers would spasm in grotesque positions and the pain was horrible.  It used to happen if I simply signed my name.  I just addressed a stack of postcards, and I'm only slightly achy.  Typing helps loosen the muscles.

             

    I love seeing progress.  They told me it would take a while to get back to feeling 100% and they also said I may never feel as youthful as I used to; but, I see progress.  And, progress gives me hope.  And, hope teaches me (at this pace) patience.  All good things.

    Speaking of progress and moving forward . .  .

    I was in Rissy's room this morning and looking at how she is "decorating" her walls with my cast off wall hangings.  She found a picture card (stationery) I had of a blue bird and asked if I could frame it.  We found an inexpensive frame at Wal-Mart and I've placed it on her nightstand to surprise her when she gets back home.

               

    Then when I looked around her room, I saw she is definitely growing up - but, not there quite yet!  I saw young lady things mixed in with juvenile toys and it made me smile.

    She has sweet young lady things on her nightstand, and greasy fingerprints on the periwinkle blue cloth she has covered over the top of the nightstand!  Probably from munching on potato chips.  Lots of little greasy dots.

                     

    I think God eases children into adulthood for their sake and for the sake of their parents.  The transition from childhood into being a young lady and then a grown woman, doesn't happen overnight.

    Luci is still young and very much a child.  Annamarie has developed slowly and is showing changes in her body, yet she is still a definite child.  Both are little girls who like to play like little girls.  Not many opinions about what they like, except, I'm seeing their taste emerge in the clothes they each pick out to wear. 

                

    But they could care less about coordinating their room.  Not too much interest in soft skin, nor wanting to take the time to use any lotion AT ALL after their baths.  I still have to remind Annamarie to wear deodorant and a bra!

    Rissy began the body lotion and "smell good" stage about 2 years ago.  She asked for sweet smelling bath gels and lotions.  She wanted Lip Smackers and Carmex for her dry lips.  She even asked for some body mist "cologne-like" products.  We reluctantly indulged her.

            

    Her dresser has a little basket on top with all her lotions and girlie things.

    So grown up!

    Then, I looked to the side of the dresser and saw her dolls, doll stroller, and one drawer not closed all the way because of clothing sticking out.  It's that absence of detail and little girl clutter that makes me smile and realize I haven't lost my little girl to young ladyhood just yet!

              
    It's a joy to watch my girls growing.  I loved them as babies, but I've also enjoyed each of the years of their lives.  I enjoyed their older sisters, too.  Never wished they were babies again.  Maybe God's grace opened my eyes to enjoying the moment and not living in the past.

    After looking at Rissy's "toy corner," I think I have a few years left of "little girl" enjoyment before she doesn't need kisses and hugs from her Momma!

    Be Blessed  ~