Month: May 2009

  • Busy Friday

    Things are relatively quiet and on even footing around here.  I was able to teach the girls some pages in their math books yesterday.  My goal is to finish their math so they can take a couple month break.  Annamarie & Luci have only two work pages in their reading workbook and, I think, as long as they are kept reading, they will be fine until August.  Rissy has a whole chapter in her math book; AND, a few lessons of spelling, so she won't get away with nothing to do in June and July.  HOWEVER, working with *just her* will give her that "alone time" (as she calls it) which she craves spending with me.

                              

    Yesterday was a busy one.  Marie and I took the girls to their therapy appointment.  Once they were in with the therapist, Marie came back out to the car and took me for my shot.

    I elected to have a bag of saline hung and Marie sat in the recliner next to me, both of us reading in our books.  That took a little over an hour.  We drove back to pick up the girls and Marie had to wait only 5 minutes before they were ready to leave.

    We drove around the corner to a grocery store and she hit pay dirt for me.  "Tropical Mango Gatorade"!!!!!  One of the few flavors I enjoy.  Jesse has been mixing a bit of Sprite with the Gatorade and it's a bit more palatable.  Nothing tastes good and water tastes like the metals and minerals in it.  I KNOW it's important for me to drink a lot, but I can only take a sip from the cup and that sip sits on my tongue begging not to go down!  My stomach isn't full of liquids, I just simple don't have a desire to drink much of anything.  I was glad my lab work showed I wasn't dehydrated (nor were my electrolytes out of balance) - I must not want to drink because I'm doing okay in the liquid department.

    We returned home with our precious Gatorade stash and sat for a brief moment.  That's when Emily and her husband, Robert, knocked on the door with Bethany and darling Brayden in tow.  Well, that wasn't a fair statement.  Bethany is a little doll herself and very talkative since I last saw her.  She's precious and had darling braids in her hair.  Brayden was a smiley 4 month old and he was pretty darn cute, too!  They dropped off food for two nights, two breakfasts, a lunch, a pan and a half of Emily's famous dinner rolls, and a chocolate, chocolate cake (I LOVE YOU EMILY!!!).  They waited while she nursed Brayden and then were off to a camping extravaganza at some friend's property from church.  I'm glad *I* wasn't the one sleeping under the stars.  My idea of camping is enjoying foliage and wooded trails by day, coming home to "THE LODGE" for a shower, eating a meal at a table, and then sleeping in a bed with a mattress, while the heat or a/c is going!  I never enjoyed "roughing it" as a child and I dislike the idea even more, now that I'm all old and crotchety!!!  Emily said the church had meals covered through Tuesday.

     

    THEN, Pastor CJ & his wife and children stopped by (around 7pm) a half hour after Emily's family left.  We chatted a bit in the den and Jesse came in from mowing about 10 minutes later.  He ran to take a shower and joined us in the den.  We shared lots of faith stories and testimonies and it was a wonderful time of fellowship; as well as, a great time of funny stories.  They are always so sweet to pay us nice compliments about our girls, our home, etc.  A real "upper" so to speak.  They stayed until a little before 9pm and left after praying for me, Jesse's ankle/foot and his business, our home, and all those people who have stepped up to help us during this time of need.

                               
    The back yard is devoid of all "baby toys" and we are awaiting the purchase of a trampoline and smaller pool.  It looks odd to not see junk everywhere!  You can see the brown lawn places where toys once stood.

                               
     
    I told Marie to be here between 9 & 9:30am this morning.  She's been so good to stick like glue until she was sure another adult would soon be taking her place.  I had a few dizzy moments yesterday and one again this morning.  I'm aware of my lack of stability, so I stay pretty close to furniture when walking.  She mentioned wanting to take the girls to a newly released children's movie today and I had told her they've never been to a movie theater before, because we like to monitor movies and turn them off if unappropriate.  I talked with Jesse this morning and he thinks the movie is one he is familiar with, and it should be okay for them to see.  A thrilling week for them . . . the zoo and NOW a movie theater!  . . . and Mom has painted toenails!!!  We're going to the dogs, I daresay!

                                 

    All I have on my agenda for today is a bath, Annamarie's laundry (which is almost finish), and probably Rissy's.  I have to put Emily soup in a Crock Pot to let it simmer/cook and that will be tonight's dinner with more of her lovely rolls.

                                 

    I'm enjoying the book I'm reading.  It's about women who were caretakers in the period of 1850 - 1940 and how taking care of the ailing (neighbors, family members, etc.) was a given duty and responsibility.  Like the last book, I'm reading it slowly, but it's written in a way that you can read short snippets and not feel lost if you have to put it down.  I've always been a "caregiver" and so was my paternal grandmother.  So are JoAnn and Marie.  Therefore, the book has been VERY interesting - to me, anyway.

    I finally had a chance to wear my new wig in public.  The pastor laughed last night and his wife said, "We commented to each other than we have never seen your hair."  I laughed and told them they still haven't seen it - I was wearing a wig!  I had to cut a few more shorter bangs.  I'm not used to any hair being in my eyes or around my face.  But, other than the bangs, this was pretty much how my own *real* hair looked (color and length) except no where near as much!  And . . . this is considered a thin or light weigh wig.

                                           

    When Jesse walked in last night, he was shocked to see me wearing a dress instead of a housecoat and HAIR!!!  He stared at me for a minute wondering *who* I was!  At least it only took him a minute to recognize me!

    That's about all the news on the home front.  A lovely day (near 90 with not much humidity), but inside the house I shall stay.  I can't be in the heat or the sun.  That doesn't leave many other places are things to do except for TV, books, or the Web to keep me occupied.  I don't care much for TV, so I may be doing a lot of reading today!

    Be Blessed  ~

  • Still Here

    Brief update with bullets:

    *  My blood work looked REALLY good yesterday and that included electrolytes and fluid intake.

    *  Doctor's guess it was the medicine (very harsh stuff) causing my symptoms and assured me the Taxol wouldn't be as harsh.

    *  Everything bit of lab work was higher (red, white, platelet cells, etc.) and it's most likely because I didn't try to do too much and my cells replenished themselves this last time.

    *  She left it up to me to go or not go in for chemo yesterday.  I elected to go and get it over with. 

    *  She told me the new drug they will switch to for my last 4 rounds of chemo won't hurt my blood cells as much and toe & finger tingly was a given, hand and foot numbness another close runner up as far as symptoms.  HOWEVER, she gave me the name of something (L-Glutamine) that appears safe and keeps the hand and feet symptoms to a minimum.  Whatever damage you have, doesn't correct itself for 3 - 4 months.  That's a long time to feel numb/tingly.

    *  The chemo gals couldn't believe I still have thin hair that falls below my neck/shoulders.  They also said that some women on Taxol (the next drug) start to grow more hair back.  She knew of only one girl who had started with waist length hair (and very THICK hair), who didn't completely lose her hair.  She said what was left wasn't as long as mine, but she wore wispy pieces out around the bottom and sides of her hats.  I told her my hair had been about the same length, but NEVER, in my life, thick.  I told her I had prayed about my hair and felt God had mercy on me.  I have see-through thin hair.  You can definitely see my bald head, but there is quite a bit of long hair, at least more than I ever anticipated!  I have to put it in a pin curl to slide my caps on my head without hair sticking out here and there.

    *  We discussed my falling and black outs and she said it was either moments of low blood pressure or, again, the toll the chemo drugs are having on my body.  She encouraged me that I was fortunate the cancer wasn't in any organs and people with what I have (the vertebrae involvement) lived for decades.  That's what I'm praying - at least 30 more years puts me mid-80s and my little children grown and my grandchildren old enough to have had a good relationship with me.

    *  I felt lousy when I came home (felt that way at the appointment, too, and they could definitely tell) and spend the rest of the evening in bed trying to read and trying to watch the news.  I only got up to eat dinner.

    *  Had trouble falling asleep, so had to take something extra to help me.  I rarely turn to MORE medicine since my body feel like a fully stocked pharmacy these days.

    *  I have to go in for my "white cell shot" and they suggested I schedule an hour so they can hang a liter of saline, like they did yesterday.  They KNEW, for sure, I was getting enough fluids by doing that.

    *  My dear friend Emily came by yesterday evening.  She was collecting pans to make two dinners for us and a dessert.  She said she was rounding up other sisters in the church to get us through Tuesday night.  She offered all kinds of other services - watching the girls, grocery shopping for me, etc.  She came in and sat on the edge of my mattress and just help my hand.  My spirits soared - they truly did.  We visited a while and then hugged good bye and said "I love yous" and she went to the kitchen in search of what she needed.  Imagine my surprise when she came back a second time to hug me and say I love you, again.  She's a wonderful comforter and a doll of a friend  So sweet!

    *  Jesse left early to mow.  Marie should be here within an hour.  I've already had a bath and washed my "hairs" (LOL!) and just need a little something to eat. 

    *  My aunt sent a sweet email note last night.  She offered me a cleaning service while I'm down.  I had the pleasure of telling her that my house is in pretty good shape.  Between my girls, JoAnn, and now Marie, things are just fine.  Marie even put clean sheets on my bed while I was gone yesterday.  My bathroom and bedroom was tidied up, and her guess that a clean bed would feel good to me was accurate.

    *  Marie took the girls to the zoo on Wednesday (a cool day) and forgot her scavenger sheets we had printed off of the Interent.  So, yesterday, the had a zoo school review!!!!  Her plan is take them to the park this morning while it's not so hot, let them run off some energy, and them come home, freshen them up, and take them to their therapy appointment at 1pm.  She loves children and they have had fun with her.

    *  That's about most of the news.  Jesse's foot is bothering him.  He stepped on a rock, twisted his ankle and the ligaments that wrap under the bottom of the foot are causing him a lot of pain .  Same thing he had surgery on years ago.  He has to talk to mow, weed eat, edge, etc. and I feel so bad for him limping in pain to work.  Please keep him in your prayers.

    Be Blessed  ~

  • I'm Okay

    I'm okay, but have no time to write anything today.  I was afraid if people didn't hear from me, I'd worry you.  I won't post tomorrow because I go for chemo in the morning and I can't promise the next few days - just depends on how weak I become. 

    Today was spent paying FOUR bills.  Yes, today.  No, that's a lie . . . ALL MORNING was spent . . . !!!  Something about new security changes by our cable provider and T-Mobile.  What a zoo!  I was on the phone for and hour and a half trying to get passwords changed (etc.) so I could pay those two bills online.  It made me so weary!  I didn't eat lunch until a little after 2pm. 

    I just talked to the oncologist's nurse.  I fell again this morning - right between the bed and bookcase.  Jesse (who was sound asleep) woke up and was across our king size bed in a heartbeat offering his hand.  This time I felt like I fell asleep standing up.  Maybe I fainted.  I've never fainted in my life - but this might have been a first.  The nurse said they'll know more after my blood work is done tomorrow morning, but much of what I'm feeling and experiencing isn't uncommon.

    So, I will post pictures and write when I'm feeling stronger.

    Be Blessed  ~

  • Thumbs (er, "toes") Up!

    It's only 81° outside, but Marie and the girls just got back from a walk (a LONG walk) around the block with Sushi and their bicycles.  Everyone came back perspiring and I hear lemonade being poured in the kitchen.  Marie said that even Sushi was begging to stop and sit at the shade trees!  I guess we're beginning to get that summer time humidity!!!

                               
                                 (My choice of shoes each day; they come in lavender, pink, or white!)

    Stephanie came by yesterday to visit.  We had a nice visit and she stayed here with me while Jesse took the girls to Wal-Mart with him - grocery shopping.  He has decided to forget the swing set idea for the backyard and go with a trampoline instead.  We are also still looking for a much smaller pool so the girls and their cousins will be safe.  The ones that are 12' in diameter and about 2 1/2 feet deep are all sold out.  I'm sure they will be restocked before the summer is gone. 

    While here, Stephanie revealed to me that she had decided to "cheer me up" and brought out a surprise make up bag.

                           
                                                         (Ta! Dah!  The "new" me!)

    Mind you . . . we NEVER wear polish on our nails.  Rissy was shocked. 

    I forgot about the "nail job" and was lying on top of the comforter on my bed watching TV when Rissy came in and gasped.  It took me a minute to follow her eyes and her open mouth of shock to see what her gasp was referring to!  I asked her if she thought my toe nails were pretty and she raised her eyebrows and asked, "You're not going to start wearing make up, too, are you?"  I assured her, the bright nails were as far as I'd go.  She wanted to know "WHY?" and I explained that not much of me feels very pretty right now.  I still have scars from the biopsies and then the first and second try incisions that hold my port under my collar bone.  The tape they used to hold the port and IV in place also bruised me in 4 crescent shaped areas.  My chest looks like a battle field and I haven't even had surgery yet!

    When you get used to seeing someone's toes "clothed" in slippers or shoes, I guess bare nails or raspberry pink ones are a shock!  Jesse kind of wondered but didn't say anything and I explained it was just to cheer me up through the summer.  I have next to no hair on my head, scars on my chest, etc.  He said nothing else.  Stephanie also brought a small amount of polish remover for me to keep.  Since I don't own a bottle of nail polish, I don't own remover, either! 


                            
                                                     (Comfy, soft, and fuzzy slippers.)

    Marie showed up today earlier than I had asked her to come.  I said 9:30am and there was a knock on the door at 8:15am.  I guess Jesse decided he wanted her to come earlier.  After my fall last Thursday night, he isn't taking any chances.  BUT, he had just forgotten to inform me!

    JoAnn was packed and ready to leave Sunday evening.  She called from the airport and said her flight was delayed (storms in Denver) and asked if I would check (online) her connecting flight to see if it would also be delayed.  There was no info online and then her second call came . . .

    They had canceled her flight due to Denver's bad weather.  She gave me a 1-800 phone number to call to rebook another flight and said she was headed back here.  When I finally got through, Frontier Airlines told me the change HAD TO BE done at the ticket counter.  What a mess!  I called and told them to go back to the airport.

    She got back to the airport ticket area and was 4th from the last in line.  Only two clerks were at the desk and all other airlines booths were closed down (typical for our small airport at 8:00pm).  Jesse (who is good at estimating crowd numbers) said he figured about 80 people were in front of her and each person (or family) took a minimum of 15 minutes to rebook.  Can you imagine?

    JoAnn was in line from about 8:00-ish to after midnight.  I felt so bad for her.  She was able to get a flight out early the next morning (Monday) and some larger families were having to wait until Tuesday or even Wednesday.  She and Jesse arrived back here a little before 1am and had to get up at 4:45am to be at the airport 5am check in time for a 6:30am flight.  Talk about exhausted.  I'm sure she was never so glad to see her home and bed, as she was Monday!


                               
                                          (My poor toes curl under and it was hard to flex them back. 
                                                 I didn't do a very good job of showing them off!)

    I have a pot roast in the Crock Pot for tonight's dinner.  I made hamburgers last night and had enough seasoned ground beef left to have hamburgers again for lunch today.  I can't taste seasonings, so I'm tending to not put enough in food.  That way, people can season their own.   You can't take the over seasoning out, but I have a feeling I'm WAY under-seasoning things!

    I'm still not feeling especially peppy, but feeling better than I was a few days ago.  The black-outs come without warning.  Sometimes I sit and then stand slowly and figure I'm okay; but, as I begin to walk, the room goes dark and I have to grab onto furniture until "the moment" passes.  Stephanie teased me and said I was having "spells" - doesn't that just sound Southern of me???!!!!  I'm swooning and having spells!!! LOL

    No more "To Do LIsts" to post  - everything is being done for me, these days.  You'd think a person would love that, but I miss my routine and feel VERY guilty that others are having to do so much of "my job" instead of me doing it.

    I need to go rest a bit.  That bed and I are becoming good friends!  I usually lie down to watch "Jeopardy!" from 3:30 to 4:30p, and then I catch the evening news.

                          
                                            (This is the equivalent of a "thumbs up!")

    I'll write more tomorrow.

    Be Blessed  ~

  • A Rare Saturday Post

    Hello, everyone!

    I didn't have time to write yesterday.  JoAnn took the girls to their Friday appointment and Marie stayed with me.  Good thing she did.  JoAnn's (and Jesse's) mother had been admitted to the hospital a few days ago and she called JoAnn to say she needed a ride home.  Of course, going to the hospital and picking up their mom is never that simple . . . Their mom wanted Mexican food, so they stopped for an early dinner.  She needed prescriptions filled, so they did that, too.  They left here at 11:45am and got back around 6:30 or 7:00pm.

                                       
                                  
    To answer the questions about Chirper "hanging" in the window. 
                                                            No, he wasn't hanging.


    I'm SO glad Marie stayed.  I would have, most likely, been okay but I fell Thursday night . . . in the bedroom . . . right in front of Jesse's eyes.  I had stepped on one of Sushi's rawhide strips (it hit smack in the center of the arch of my right bare foot) and, as I lifted my foot off of it, down I went.  I fell forward, with arms and legs off the floor, and looked like some comedic prat fall.  I only sustained carpet burns, as I fell on the rug that is atop our bedroom carpeting.  I came within inches of knocking my face on the dresser.  Falling is an odd occurrence for me.  I never fall.  I used to be a dancer and even taught tap and ballet for years and I was born with an incredible sense of balance, much like a cat who lands on all fours.  We're still not sure what happened.  I think I lifted my right foot, went to step forward with my left foot, but my left foot never made it to the floor.  It went behind me and pitched my body forward so I landed face down.  I have been really dizzy and more weak this time after chemo, and maybe my left leg DID hit the ground but couldn't hold me.  I'll never know.  I guess this will go down in history as one of those rare occasions where Cherylyn fell on her face!!!!!

    My time spent with Marie was enjoyable.  Thursday afternoon, I had made a curried chicken salad for our dinner and there was enough left over for us to have lunch, yesterday.  Marie talked a lot about herself and her childhood and it was nice to get to know her better.

                                        
             He saw birds in the backyard and "talked" to them (a sort of twittering or chattering, not a meow). 
                     The window was open, and I'm sure he not only SAW them, but smelled them!


    Jesse has some sod to lay and a few trees & bushes to trim at a woman's house, today, and then I hope to have him to myself until Tuesday morning!  JoAnn will leave late Sunday afternoon.  She isn't taking clothing or anything and will return June 9th with baby (well, she's 2 years old now, not exactly a "baby") Abreanna.  Marie said she was "happy" to step in and seemed surprised that we intended to pay her something while she helped.

    I'm not sure our girls know that Aolani will be joining Abreanna this summer.  They will be thrilled to see their cousin!  Jesse and JoAnn continue to look for a swing set and a smaller pool for our backyard.  It's not quite warm enough to swim right now, but the heat will be here soon enough.

                                         
                                        He "hid" himself (his face) behind the blinds to stalk them,
                              but had no clue his whole body was clearly seen.  Kind of like a child
                                             who covers their face with their hands and says,
                                                                  "You can't see me!"

    I was a little down this week (as "down" as I ever get, any more, which isn't very low!) and contemplated asking the oncologist to postpone my next chemo session until my red blood count was higher.  Everything I do, even the smallest of tasks, leaves me breathless and my heart beating like a band in my chest.  Recovery from the last treatment has taken longer this time.  Anyway, I decided to let the doctor look at my blood work and make the decision to go ahead with or postpone the next chemo therapy.  The sooner I get through this, the sooner it will be over.  Like I said, drying off my body after a bath and putting on body lotion leaves me with that "whew-ee" feeling I keep describing.  And, I've been blacking out more than I did after the last treatment.  That also means there is very little I do around here.  JoAnn has really taken the bull by the horns and done a wonderful job of taking over my responsibilities.  She tells me all the time I can "keep my job" and she doesn't know how I do it all.  I guess what I do (did) around here is just second nature and I can do almost all of it while standing on my feet - asleep!!! 

                                   
                                         To prove he is okay and was not hanging in the window (LOL!!!),
                                                          I took pictures of him at dinner time. 
                                        He was sitting on a school bin of supplies that is next to the table.

    Luci and Annamarie are almost finished with their math book.  Rissy has a lot of pages left - in fact, one whole section is untouched.  I told her she would have to do more pages a day to be able to take a summer break with her sisters.  She is trying to do 6 pages (front and back) to put the book behind her.  I'm helping her from the sofa or bed instead of sitting at the table and teaching.  She and Annamarie grabbed books and read to me last night while I sat in the den.  Rissy is reading close to third grade level (she is completing first grade right now) and Annamarie (who couldn't read at all last summer) is doing VERY well - better than those people diagnosing her condition EVER expected.  I'm pleased with their progress.

                                 
                                     Seeing that JoAnn feeds the cats at night, she is his new best friend. 

    The crowd is beginning to creep out of the different bedrooms around here.  Slowly but surely.  I guess I could go visit with my husband before he leaves the house.  We are supposed to have short rounds of rain over the next few days.  I guess it will come as a downpour and then cease for a while.  Enough to make the sod Jesse is putting down take root, nicely.

                                      
                                  JoAnn thinks he's pretty cute, but still doesn't pet him because of her allergies.
                                            He was "just looking" not touching the cup!   He's so little that
                                                        the "Big Gulp Cup" almost swallowed HIM!!!

    No plans here for the weekend.  I'm still staying at home all the time and not mingling with the masses.  I don't think Jesse even has plans for cooking a "mess o' meat" outside! 

    Be Blessed  ~

     

  • Some Great News!

    I JUST KNEW things would work out regarding my care, here at home!

    JoAnn bought another plane ticket to return to our house before my 5th round of chemo, when they stop the chemo drugs I'm on and give a new one for four rounds.  She will stay until the end of August.  She's been a wonderful sister-in-law to me (always has been!) and has assured me that just because I gave her and her daughter a home in my smaller house (before Jesse and I became acquainted years ago), she is not doing this for us because she feels she owes us, nor have we made her feel obligated.  She feels God leading her to come back and help our family.

    She helps care for her two granddaughters while their mother works nights (requiring their mom to sleep days) and couldn't figure out how to be *here* and *there* AND take care of everyone.  She bought a ticket for herself and the 2yo granddaughter.  The older child (remember Aolani from last summer???) will come later, when school is over in a few weeks.  Aolani's father lives here and will get to see her this summer - a great thing for Aolani.  Either JoAnn's friend, Karen, or my brother-in-law, James, will bring Aolani here in a few weeks and JoAnn will return at the end of August (with both girls) to Tacoma.  The friend, Karen, has also had breast cancer and has been a support to me and my brother-in-law and I had the opportunity to get much closer, after he stayed with us for 2 months last year.  Any of them are welcome in my home!

                                         

    In the meantime, a long time friend of the family (whose daughter eventually married into the family) will be here while JoAnn goes back to Tacoma to take care of some personal business - for about 10 days.  Marie has also done home health care and is very patient and nice.  She recently returned to Oklahoma to help care for her father, but he hasn't started his cancer therapy yet.  She is available because she can't find a job doing home health care, or much of anything else, here.  I think *she thinks* she is helping us for free, but we WILL pay her something.   AND, we are paying for JoAnn's plane tickets and some of her Tacoma expenses.  My brother-in-law, James, paid for this trip's ticket.  WONDERFUL IN-LAWS!!!!!  Fortunately, we have been blessed in many ways, and we have the ability to pay SOME compensation and this is definitely a medical emergency.  We will only ask Marie to come between the hours of 9:30 and 4-ish.  I can be alone before and after those times, and Jesse can make his lawn cutting days shorter to be home a little earlier than usual. 

    I'm sure my surgery and that post surgical care will, also, fall into place when the time comes - probably around Labor Day.

                                        

    God has been so wonderful to send JoAnn and to give us the ability to pay a bit for her and Marie's time and care.  The girls will enjoy seeing their Tacoma cousins again - last year was tons of fun for them.  We are looking into getting a swing set for the backyard and a smaller pool than we had originally decided to put in the backyard.  Something smaller will be safer.

    Stephanie has mentioned, several times, that her younger sisters could come to her apartment for a sleep over and then swim in her apartment's pool!  She wants them to have *some type* of a normal and fun summer.  She said this has been "traumatic" for her and she can't imagine how little children (6 - 9 years old) feel about their mom being so whooped and lying around all the time in her nightgowns!!! 

    Like I said, watching God unfold His plan, and me not worrying about (but KNOWING that) He would faithfully provide for our family, has been such a wonder to behold.

                                                  

    The church we have attended for a few years (Jesse and the pastor are friends) has said they want to help with meals and Jesse told them the interim week coming up (when JoAnn is gone) would be a good time.  Rissy and I can pull things together, but knowing we don't *have to* (on a weak day of mine) is also comforting.  Another church we've attended (the ones who helped when I had pneumonia in 2007) also have called several times to see if we need help. 

    I know we reap what we sow, and Jesse and I have always reached out to others in need; but, to see God being so faithful to us makes me stand in awe!

                                                  

    One more piece of great news . . . JoAnn just got back with Chirper from the vet (nails needed trimming) and he has gained 4 more ounces from last month when he went for a nail trim!  The cat that wasn't supposed to live 2 weeks after we received him is fine and thriving!!!  I'm praising God all over the place today!

    Be Blessed  ~

  • Pets Gone Wild

    This will be short because my life has been rather boring this week and there isn't much to talk about.

    The weather has been (and is supposed to be for the next 7 days) glorious.  Right around 80° with a bit of a breeze.  I opened a window in the bedroom's bathroom yesterday and the freshness through out my bedroom was wonderful.  I still don't have much energy, so I'm hanging out in bed reading (finally finished that first thick book!!!!) or wandering aimlessly around the house.  I can't wander for too long or I black out. 

    I DID bake a cake yesterday.  One of those where you use a box mix, let it cool, punch holes in it, and add Jell-O to the top . . . then, serve it covered with Cool Whip.  I flavored it with strawberry (for Jesse) Jell-O and couldn't taste a bite.  JoAnn loved it and I tried to remember what it was like to taste food, while I shoveled tasteless (but VERY moist) pieces into my mouth!  Sometimes I wonder why I bother eating the calories when I have no sense of taste.

                                    

    JoAnn had planned to take Chirper to the vet this morning (to have his nails trimmed), but the vet isn't in today.  I'm so glad I thought to call before she made the trip!  She'll try to take him tomorrow.  Meanwhile, the girls' new glasses are in and that's where they went, with a quick stop at Wal-Mart before returning.

                                                

    Sushi is getting a new collar today.  She finally outgrew her puppy collar.  She has become larger than we thought she'd be - tall, long legged, and filling out everywhere.  JoAnn and I were talking in the den this morning and Sushi spied a stuffed animal (we'd already retrieved from her mouth, earlier) on the formal dining room table.  Before we could blink, she jumped ON TOP OF THE TABLE.  I didn't know she could easily jump that high and she looked like a billy goat on top of a dog house, just standing there on my beautiful table on all fours!  I was NOT happy!  Later, I saw her outside eating flowers from my rose bushes.  ????????  Strange dog, these days!  I ordered some dog perfume for her today.  She's pretty "wild" smelling, despite giving her baths.

                                                  
    Did you know animals smile when you take their pictures?  Both of our dogs do.  The cats do.  Even Tango fluffs up and looks happy when we talk to her.  They all seem to know what the camera is about and usually smile for us.

    I caught some cute pictures of Chirper and Tango playing.  Poor bird.  Chirper is the only one who really pays attention to her and they are together most of the day - him on the window sill, or end table, and her up against the bars of her cage (yet safely protected) to visit with him.

                                                   

    As far as the question about Sushi's mess and me cleaning it up the other day . . . YES, I did bend to clean the carpet quickly with some carpet foam cleaner and wiped up the tile floor with 409.  I put Sushi outside in case it happened again.  I just couldn't leave that mess in the carpet or on the floor, not knowing when JoAnn and the girls might be back.  It was just too nasty!

                                       

    I don't know if the pets need fresh air or a nap.  They are wild.  Tango is in the den screaming, "Who's a pretty bird?  Who's a pretty bird?"  over and over and over!  Makes me want to yell back, "YOU ARE, Tango.  YOU are!" 

    The dogs are stretched out and sleeping on the floor near me.  Chirper has tired of playing with Tango (probably the reason she keeps hollering, "Who's a pretty bird?") and Stormy is no where to be found.

                                     

    It's just me and the sound of the ceiling fans rotating!  Think I'll say good bye and enjoy the quiet while it lasts!

    Be Blessed  ~

  • I *SHOULD* Be Rested!!!

    Had another scary episode yesterday afternoon. 

    JoAnn took Rissy and Annamarie to the park while Luci napped after throwing one of her famous "fits"!!!!!

    I was on the phone to find out WHERE my handicapped tag was for our vehicle.  I was on hold for over 20 minutes.  FINALLY, someone got on the line and said they would check about my tag.  I had used "an old form" and a dollar was no longer required.  I had to nudge the gal when she told me that, and I asked, "So what happens when the wrong form is used and you have a one dollar check?  Don't you notify the person?"  As I said, she was "nudged," by me, to check around.

    Meanwhile, Sushi came out and began to throw up on the carpet by my desk (yes! I'm glad we still haven't replaced this old carpeting!!!).  I tried to get her to the tiled foyer floor by dragging her by the collar (she's now a much bigger and heavier dog than her puppy days) while holding onto the phone; and, she proceeded to throw up 2 more times. (rolling eyes!)

                                                      

    All the while, I was waiting for the lady to find out what had become of my application.  I got Sushi to the back door, the gal got back on the phone and said mine must be in the group of apps they were processing this week, and I should have mine soon.

    By now I was huffing and puffing and, besides the labored breathing, losing the little bit of voice I had left.  She pointed out she couldn't hear me.  I croaked out, "Thank you, goodbye," and hung up.  I told Jesse, by the way I sounded, the gal probably thought I had just died and would no longer need a handicapped parking permit; and, she probably canceled our order!

    My heart was pounding so hard it felt like it would jump out of my chest.  I made it back to the bed and fell down, wishing I had thought to unlock the front door and grab the phone to call 911 in case I had a heart attack.  (no exaggeration, here - I was VERY concerned)

                                    

    The labored breathing and pounding heartbeat eventually stopped and I stayed on the bed reading until JoAnn and the girls got home.

    We had that turkey dinner I talked about yesterday and I went back to read on the bed.  The next thing I knew, it was 11pm and Jesse was waking me up to get me under the covers.  I had to brush my teeth, take some vitamins and medication, etc. before going to sleep.  I turned on the rerun of the news, but fell asleep again quickly.  I woke up at 3am, sure I wouldn't be able to fall back asleep.  I had a headache, probably from sleeping so soundly in a crooked position.  I took 2 Tylenol and slept AGAIN until almost 7 this morning.

    I can't believe I slept so long.  I'm still extremely shaky - like I've taken adrenaline for an allergy attack - and won't spend much time writing today.  There isn't much to tell, anyway.  I just feel very weak and "weird" - the soles of my feet are even shaking.  I think this is a "good thing" because if the drugs are killing the good cells, they are also killing the cancer cells!!!

    I don't know how I would make it without my sister in law being here to care for me.  She's been a God send!

                                        

    Thank you *ALL* for your support and kind words each day.  It's so nice to know there are people who care and are praying for me!  I'm praying for all of you who have prayer requests and family members having surgery and tests run!  I haven't forgotten you, and I'm privileged to pray for you while I recover in bed!

                                        

    I'll be back to write more when I'm not so teeter-tottery!

    Be Blessed  ~

  • Some Monday Highlights

    Those highlights won't necessarily include me!  I'm only posting this quickly and will go rest afterward.

    The little misses were up bright and early and their Auntie JoJo is preparing their week's lesson of school assignment.

                                           

    =================================

    I've been on the phone this morning, even though I have barely a voice with which to speak!!!!  I'm making medical appointments for the girls.  Annamarie has to see that ENT doctor for her hearing problem and Rissy has to see an orthopedic surgeon for her back.  I also needed to find out when Rissy's orthotic shoes will be in to fit her daytime orthotic brace into (so they'll release that brace to us - we have to have the shoes first).  AND, I needed to know what size we need to order for her second pair of shoes - insurance only pays for one and we need "nice" shoes and "play" shoes.  Huff!  Puff!  I just need to make copious notes of everything I do and "WHAT" I need to do on whatever date!!!!!  I have next to no memory - not even from phone call to phone call.  No voice and no memory . . . . so, what was I saying???  LOL!!!  The girls' glasses should be in this week.

    =================================

    I'm feeling okay.  Still a little shaky, but that's to be expected for me, or seems to be how the chemo drugs stay in me and eventually depart.  Barring any complications like I had last week, I hope to feel better by the end of this week.  My voice (always hoarse when I take the Decadron) should start coming back in 2 more days.  ME?  NOT ABLE TO TALK????  Just horrible (for me, anyway)!

      

    ===============================

    We've already had a run away dog this morning.  She was playing with Rissy on the floor, by my desk, and then mysteriously disappeared.

      

    We discovered she had gone out to help Jesse mow our backyard and then followed him out the gate (bad Dad!!!).  He found her across the street.  She wears tags with her name and our phone number, AND a chip embedded in her shoulders with a tag ID'ing her, but we'd still hate to lose her.  Too much time invested and affectionate bonds have been formed!
      
    Dad's "helper" this morning.  He mowed our yard and the neighbor's yard before leaving.

    My "Cross Cut Lawn" guy!
                            

    =============================

    Not much on my agenda today.  I made my 3 phone calls, paid a bill, and balanced the checkbook.  I can't think of anything else pressing.  If I could talk better, I'd teach some of the school lessons for today.  But, it's not going to happen.

    Yesterday, I purchased some bathing suits on Ebay for Rissy and Annamarie.  Seems we skipped a size one summer while Annamarie went through a growth spurt.  I'm filling in size 12s and a few 14s for Rissy and Luci to wear in the future.

    ===========================

    I AM planning a turkey breast dinner tonight.  I'll fix it with baked sweet potatoes (with brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter), cranberry sauce, and maybe broccoli.  Last night, JoAnn and Jesse sliced the rest of the pork roast really thin, put it in gravy and served it over open faced sandwiches and mashed potatoes, with green beans and beets on the side.  They are making sure I eat "colorful plates of food" AND fruit at each meal.  Stephanie had come over to do laundry and pick up some money of hers, so we had a nice visit.  She said JanaLyn lost her first tooth last week.  Cute story! 

    ===========================

    I'm still preserving a few of my flowers and greenery.  I just love the fresh ALIVE look of real flowers.
                                               

    ===============================

    My life feels like it slowing down, and I'm liking that.  Not so many appointments.  JoAnn goes home next Sunday.  Her friend is supposed to be here Thursday to see how the house is run and then go with JoAnn to the girls' therapy appointment on Friday so she can see *where* to go and THAT routine.  Therapy will switch to Thursday's in June and those are also my chemo days.  Jesse should be able to take me in his pick up truck to chemo and the girls will go in the Suburban to their appointment.  That leaves someone to take me on Friday's for my shot - the day after chemo.  I'm doing okay, not going out in public.  I had really anticipated getting dressed more each day; but, laying down as often as I do during the day, makes skirts and shirts bunch up around me and that makes me uncomfortable.  Fortunately, I have lots of pretty nightgowns I'm wearing these days.

    Before JoAnn arrived, I typed pages of information about what is on each shelf or in each cupboard, AND a bit about our routine.  I printed those sheets again and have them posted inside cupboard doors, near the utility room shelves, and in the garage on the freezer and refrigerator/freezer.  Hopefully, a stranger will be able to make sense of my house!

    I best be going.

    Be Blessed  ~ 

  • Sleepless in Oklahoma

    I'm not sleeping well and feeling very out of it today.  I didn't fall asleep until well after 3:30am last night.

    I should start feeling better again on Wednesday.  Lots of shakiness this time.  I'm spending time in bed reading, so my body can recover.

    I'm grateful for my "teenage" reading level Beverly Lewis book.  Very light reading.  I can get through each story in about 2 hours.  Doable is nice!  So is accomplishing something!

    I'll be back soon.  I promise.  With pics! 

    Until then, I continue to pray for all of you who have burdens and prayer requests.  I have lots of time to pray when the rest of the house is asleep!  Something I can do for my friends without exerting myself!

    Love to you all,

    Be Blessed  ~